# District V NABP/AACP 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting Business Session—August 2, 2024 Omaha, Nebraska

The session was called to order by Lloyd K. Jessen, District V Secretary/Treasurer, at 11:30 a.m. on August 2, 2024.

The reports of the District V committees were then received. Committee appointments for 2024 were as follows:

Audit Committee: Jason Varin, Chair; Diane Halvorson; and Gary Milavetz Nominating Committee: Tyler Laetsch, Chair; Ron Horner; and James Bialke Resolutions Committee: Mark Hardy, Chair; Shane Wendel; Melissa DeNoon; Ken

Kester; Ashley Hansen, and John Zwier

Mr. Jessen called on Diane Halvorson of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the audit committee report. Diane reported that the committee had met, had examined the income and expenses for District V for FY 2024, and had found them to be in order. Diane also reported that District V had a balance of \$92,336.62 on hand as of June 30, 2024. It was moved, seconded and carried to adopt the audit committee report. Mr. Jessen thanked Diane and the members of the audit committee for their work.

Mr. Jessen called on Tyler Laetsch of the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the Nominating Committee report. The nominating committee placed the names of Ashley Hansen (SD) and Ronda Chakolis (MN) in nomination with a recommendation that Ashley Hansen should serve as the delegate and Ronda Chakolis should serve as the alternate. Only boards of pharmacy were allowed to vote, since this is an NABP selection. Ashley Hanson was elected as the resolutions committee representative/delegate and Ronda Chakolis was elected as the alternate. Mr. Jessen thanked Tyler and the members of the nominating committee for their work.

Mr. Jessen called on Mark Hardy of the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to present the resolutions committee report and to read each resolution in order. The resolutions were considered, moved and seconded. All present at the meeting voted "aye" on all the motions and each motion carried.

## **Resolution #1: Recognition of Annual Meeting Sponsors.**

WHEREAS, the 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of District Five NABP/AACP was conducted with the generous support of Amazon Pharmacy, Cigna/Express Scripts, CVS Health, Lighthouse AI, NACDS, OptumRx/Genoa Healthcare, Walgreens and Walmart.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Body of District Five NABP/AACP, that we express our sincere thanks and appreciation for their support.

#### **Resolution #2: Recognition of Host Organizations.**

WHEREAS, the Nebraska Board of Pharmacy has assisted in the planning of this meeting; and

WHEREAS, the School of Pharmacy & Allied Health Professions of Creighton University has provided meeting space and resources, and has devoted much time and effort to the preparation of this meeting; and

WHEREAS, the College of Pharmacy of the University of Nebraska has also provided meeting space and resources, and has contributed much time and effort to the preparation of this meeting;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Body of District Five NABP/AACP go on record expressing their sincere appreciation and thanks to the host organizations for developing and conducting a successful Annual Meeting in Omaha, Nebraska.

## **Resolution #3: District Five Study Grants.**

WHEREAS, in 1994 the District Five NABP/AACP instituted the District Five Study Grant, and

WHEREAS, projects supported by the Study Grant benefit the Board, Colleges, and Pharmacists of District Five; and

WHEREAS, there are sufficient funds in the District treasury to support continuation of the Study Grant,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that District Five NABP/AACP offer two (2) Study Grants in 2025 not to exceed \$4,000.00 each, for projects meeting the criteria and topics selected by the District Five Study Grant Committee.

## Resolution #4: Secretary Honorarium.

WHEREAS, Lloyd K. Jessen has contributed to District Five NABP/AACP through his excellent dedicated leadership and loyal service as Secretary/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, such services are essential to the operations and successful functioning of District Five NABP/AACP;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the members of the 87<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of District Five go on record to express our joint and mutual appreciation and thanks for his distinguished and faithful service; and

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that District Five issue Lloyd K. Jessen an honorarium in the amount of \$4,000.00.

Mr. Jessen thanked Mark and the members of the resolutions committee for their work.

#### *Time and Place Committee:*

Kathy Stone of Iowa accepted the hosting of the 88<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of NABP/AACP District V on behalf of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy, Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, and the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Ms. Stone invited the district to the Hyatt Regency, Coralville, Iowa, for the 2025 Annual Meeting on **August 6-8, 2025.** 

There being no further business, the 2024 annual meeting of District V NABP/AACP was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd K. Jessen Secretary/Treasurer District V NABP/AACP